Chicago – Participants

Conference Organizers

Robin Ravinia_bw_2

Robin Glosemeyer Petrone

Art and science converged for Robin during a Requiem in a cathedral in Dortmund while studying abroad and she returned to the University of Kansas to add an acoustics emphasis to her Architectural Engineering degree. She joined Jaffe Holden Acoustics in 2000, eventually becoming Director of West Coast Operations, managing projects and the office. After a short break to start a family, Robin reentered the profession at Threshold, doing both consulting and business development.

Her history in the Acoustical Society of America includes co-chairing student design competitions, several sessions on room acoustics, co-organizing the 2003 CHRG Summer Institute, and co-authoring Classroom Acoustics: A Reference for Creating Learning Environments with Desirable Listening Conditions. She is a voting member of the ASA Press Editorial Board. Robin has been an invited lecturer at LA Philharmonic’s Music for Elementary Educators series and at SCI-Arc as part of the “Stereolabs” Seminar.


Tim Foulkes

Tim is a Principal Consultant with Cavanaugh Tocci Associates in Boston. He consults with architects and engineers on issues of acoustics and control of noise and vibration. His work includes theaters, auditoriums, churches, courtrooms, boardrooms and office fitup design. Tim has worked on a number of studios for audio and video recording and production. On most projects he also provides noise and vibration control of mechanical systems.
Tim earned his Bachelor of Science degree at Purdue University, where he also played in the jazz band and did some concert reviews for the school newspaper. He is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America and a Board Certified member of the Institute of Noise Control Engineers (INCE).

Tim has been involved in the Concert Hall Research Group since its inception in 1992, serving in various leadership roles.

Scott PfeifferSmall


Scott Pfeiffer

Scott’s path in architectural acoustics began on the elementary school stage, went on to roles in high school musicals and then recitals as part of his music education at Moravian College. With acoustics his main interest, he completed a Bachelor of Science in Physics with Honors in Music and then moved on to graduate studies in the Acoustics Laboratory at the Technical University of Denmark. For two decades, Scott has participated in virtually every aspect of the acoustical consulting profession, from modeling and measurements to leading the design of complex rooms, audio and video installations, and electronic enhancement systems.

Scott has been honored as a Fellow in the Acoustical Society of America for his accomplishments in the design of worship and performing arts spaces as well as his leadership in pursuing great Unanswered Questions, a topic he explored at length in the ASA’s Knudson Distinguished Lecture in 2012. He was keynote speaker at the University of Michigan’s 2013 Saturday Morning Physics conference, lecturing a rapt audience of 1,000 on physics, perception, and uniqueness. He also serves on the Knowles Hearing Center Advisory Board at Northwestern University and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Durham School Architectural Engineering Industry Advisory Committee.


Andre Hulva, Columbia College Chicago
Benjamin Copenhaver, University of Texas at Austin
Benjamin Markham, Acentech
Brenna Boyd, University of Nebraska
Chiemi Wakabayashi. Tokyo Institute of Technology
David Manely, D.L Adams Associates
Eric McGowan, University of Kanas
Fredrick C. Schafer, F.C. Shafer Consulting
Gregory Couriet, The Sextant Group, Inc.
Ian Hoffman, Judson University
Hassan Azad, University of Florida
Hyun Hong, University of Nebraska
Jason Duty, Charles M. Slater Associates, Inc.
Jay Bliefnick, Columbia College Chicago
Jennifer Nelson, Threshold Acoustics
John Strong, Threshold Acoustics
Joonhee Le, University of Nebraska
Joshua Dunham, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Lily Wang, University of Nebraska
Marcus Mayell, Judson University
Mario Huaquin, Acoustics Projects Inc.
Martin Lawless, The Pennsylvania State University
Mathew Blevins, University of Nebraska
Matthew Hildebrand Wenger Corporation
Mathew Neal, The Pennsylvania State University
Michael Pettersen, Shure Incorporated
Mizuki Inoue, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Robert Berens, Acentech
Robert Conick, Acentech
Roger Schwnke, Meyer Sound Laboratories
Ryan Biziorek, ARUP
Robert Coffeen, University of Kansas
Shane Kanter, Threshold Acoustics
Susan Fox, Acoustical Society of America
Zhao ‘Ellen’ Pang, University of Nebraska